Wisteria Tempura! Fancy   4 comments

By now, you know, I LOVE eating flowers! 

So, of course, when I read that lovely Wisteria is edible, I had to try it. 

Many foraging guides recommend making fritters with the fragrant flowers. 

My first thought was TEMPURA!  Oh yummy, tempura, with my favorite Thai’ dipping sauce!  Yes, a rare, worthy excuse to eat fried food.  Yes, I’m in! 

Oh, but, wait.  It took two years to find wild, forage-able, reachable, Wisteria.  Because good things do, actually, come to those who wait, guess what I found, just the other day!?!?!?!?  Wisteria frutescens!

 

A good deal of it; where I could reach it, more than 100 yards from traffic, behind a vacant lot, prolifically growing amongst several other wild edibles, like, Japanese knotweed, Polygonum cuspidatum, Autumn Olive, Elaeagnus umbellata, and Garlic mustard, Alliaria petiolata.  If we can’t beat ‘em, we sure better eat ‘em!

 

Wisteria is a tough, smooth barked, twisting, climbing vine.

 

With compound, toothless leaves.

 

The flowers drape in massive clusters of abundant, pea-like, white, lilac, and purple blossoms, with yellow centers. 

The flowers are the ONLY edible part.  WARNING: the seeds are poisonous.

Therefore, do remove the blossoms from the rest of the vine.

 

After rinsing the clusters, I separated the flowers from the stalks.  When they dried, a bit, I picked through and removed all the stems, spent flowers and any remaining critters.

I used my Tempura au Forage recipe *

Since it’s my first time eating Wisteria, I only made a little with the flowers, and used some left-over cooked Carrots, Onion, and Yellow Wood Sorrel, Oxalis spp, for the remaining batter.  Each little bundle of yum was fabulous.  The carrots were sweet, the onion was much like scallion pancakes, the Wood Sorrel had a little lemony tang and the Wisteria, was. . . .well. . .it was very tasty!  I half expected a pea-like flavor; but, it wasn’t.  I wondered if it would taste floral, but, it didn’t.  It tasted like nothing I’ve ever tasted, before.  Wisteria tastes like something I want to taste, again; many, many times!  I’m so glad I picked enough to store some in the freezer; for special occasions, throughout the coming year.

 

I am so grateful for this wonderful bounty.  And, bonus, there was left-over tempura for today’s lunch. 

Come, join me! 

L’chiam!

Hey Nickety!

Thanx for stopping by.  See you soon.

 

Tempura au Forage

* http://forageporage.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/foraged-feasting/

 

4 responses to “Wisteria Tempura! Fancy

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on Forageporage's Blog and commented:

    It’s Wisteria Time, Again! I went back to the Wisteria spot that I discovered last year, and it was prolific. Several photos from last years post have been replaced, and more added. The flowers frozen last year remained wonderfully, until last month. Thank goodness they are back!

  2. My, I never realized there were so many wild things out there that made for good eating. Maybe if I get up my courage I will try frying some (just the flowers, of course)!

  3. Pingback: Pass the Milkweed, Please! « Forageporage's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

