Hello world!   Leave a comment

“Fill me with sassafras, nurse,

And juniper juice!

Let me see if I’m still any use!”

~Donald Robert Perry Marquis (1879-1937)

BEING FEARLESS

There are only two core emotions; Love and Fear.  Every other feeling, instinct, need and preoccupation stems from one, or the other.

Prove it to yourself.

Take a sheet of paper and divide it in half.  On one side, list several bad things that have happened in your life.  On the other side list several good things that have happened in your life.

Go back to the bad side and one by one look at why (honestly) and think about how you felt at the time.

Among my bad list:

Many years ago my X-fiancé committed suicide.  He had backed out of the relationship a few months earlier. (Maybe a little fear going on there?)  I blamed myself for years.  It’s difficult to admit your insignificance; in such a situation.  I felt, not good enough; not good enough to sustain another life.  So, I shut down.  I was afraid to trust, anyone, ever.  And vulnerability was no longer an option.  Fear ran my life for many years; causing me and my family a great deal of physical and emotional discomfort.  Letting go takes time.  The passing of the moon softens even jagged memories.  Now when I think about Jeff I’m grateful for all that he taught me and my family.  We are better people for having him in our lives.

Now go back to the good side and do the same thing.

At the top of my good list:

When my grandsons Alex and Quinn were born I had the honor and pleasure of being in the room.  Witnessing their mother’s strength and courage was incredible.  Melissa and Angelique, both in their own fashion, shared the most intimate and sacred moment of their lives with me.  I took each boy to the window and introduced them to the Moon, the night they were born.  We enjoy a special Love bond.

It’s really that simple; and so fucking complicated!  I can’t really explain why it took me so long to figure out.  Most of my life has been ruled by fear.  I’m tired of it.  When I live in love good things happen.  When I live in fear shit happens.  Today I choose to live in love.

Posted September 8, 2010 by forageporage in Being Fearless

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

