ATE IT!   2 comments

Saw my first Dandelion, Taraxacum officinale, yesterday; and ate it.  It was unavoidable, really; and, oh my goodness, it was delicious! 

While all parts are edible, Dandelion flowers are my favorite.  Truth is, I don’t care for the greens; at all!  There, I said it.  Although minions of Dandelion enthusiasts are gasping at the thought, I find the greens far too bitter.  Why eat something I don’t care for (no matter how nutritious it is) when there is a plethora of delicious greenery to be picked? I like the flowers fresh or dried; in salad, in tea, as a cooked vegy, in baked goods, in wine, brandy or cordial form, and as Good Medicine.  To find recipes for Dandelion Tea and Tempura, click here:  https://forageporage.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/foraged-feasting/

Soon there will be loads of flowers!  Certainly you don’t need me to describe Dandelions to you.  However, it is interesting to note their similarity to some Wild Lettuce flowers.  Wild Lettuces (the Lactuca spp.) bloom later in the year, are also edible and very bitter.  The flower flavor also resembles Dandelion; except it’s kind of cheesy!  

As the season turns, and more flowers bloom, we’ll come back to Dandelion and the Wild Lettuces; to cook up some fun.

Thanx for stopping by.  See you soon.

2 responses to “ATE IT!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have been dying to try making Dandelion Wine, after reading the book by Ray Bradbury 🙂 Nice post!

    • Thanx so much! Have you read “The Dandelion Celebration”, by Peter Gail? There’s loads of great Dandelion recipies, in there, including a couple for wine. This year I’m looking foward to making Dandy Brandy!

Leave a Reply

