Walking Augustly!   2 comments

August in New England is certainly majestic, and imposing!  Everywhere you look, around Wareham, there’s something ready to eat; or something else, almost ready.

Whether you like black cherries, Prunus serotina, or choke cherries, Prunus virginiana, there’s an abundance.

I’m a fruitaholic; and have difficulty putting any of this deliciousness into any container, other than my mouth!

The roses are hipping, Rosa spp., and a few are ripe enough to gather, now.

Wild potato, Ipomoea pandurata, flowers poke their heads out of many surprising places.  This one was near the school dumpster.

I found these tiny elf berries, and, had tentatively identified them; until I chatted with Wildman Steve Brill, on Facebook.  Steve was kind enough to take the time to agree, that they are,  American Dewberries, Rubus  flagellares.  Thanks Steve. (1)  Although these berries are itty-bitty they are powerful tasty!

If you come for a walk in the morning, some of the evening primrose, Oenothera biennis, flowers may still be open.

Across the fields there are loads of wild carrot, Daucus carota, soapwort, Saponaria officinalis, staghorn sumac, Rhus typhina, mullein, Verbascum thapsus, tansy, Tanacetum vulgare, ladys-thumb, Polygonum persicaria, goldenrod, Solidago odora, mugwort, Artemisia vulgaris, chicory, Cichorium intybus, and an orchestra of others; all singing, ‘Come get me!’

And, pretty much, everything you bring home contains the bonus of a hidden snail, Helix genus, tiny, tasty terrestrial gastropod mollusks!

Best of all, the autumnberries, Elaegnus umbellata, are beginning to ripen.  Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, oh yes!  Hands down these gems are my favorite foragables.  I ate a few, even though they aren’t ripe.  They were soooo tart, and, delicious!

Oh my goodness, I’ve eaten so many blackberries, Rubus fruticosus!  I’d like to take the time to detail out all these plants, here.  Truth be known a lot of plants have gone by, this year, already, that I did not get a chance to write a post about.  Maybe next year!  If you don’t see me here, I’m outside, stuffing my face!

I brought home a bouquet of mugwort, Artemisia vulgaris, wild carrot, Daucus carota, tansy, Tanacetum vulgare, and day lilies, Hemerocallis fulva.  Think I’m going to have to eat the lilies, though!

Just click on any photo to enlarge, for greater detail.

Thanx for stopping by.  See you soon.

REFERENCES:

Wildman Steve Brill:  www.wildmanstevebrill.com


Wareham on Dwellable
2 responses to “Walking Augustly!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Careful periwinkles bite! lol

Leave a Reply

