Welcome To The Knotweed Forest   6 comments

Over the weekend, we moved, into an old Victorian apartment house; with a yard full of Japanese Knotweed, Polygonum cuspidatum.

All that Knotweed, almost, looks pretty, from up here on the third floor balcony.  Until I notice the Birches, Betula spp., Maples, Acer spp., Oaks, Quercus spp., and Sassafras, Sassafras albidum, that I can’t get to, all I can think about is Knotweed muffins!  And I wonder what else may be growing, hidden in the Knotweed Forest.

Down here, on ground level, the Knotweed becomes intimidating.  That’s way more muffins than I can fathom!  I wonder what it looked like, here, before the Knotweed invasion?  I would imagine that when the house was built there was a pathway (at least) from here to the river; a guesstimated 300 yards back.

There’s, also, loads of deadfall, if anyone wants some free firewood!  It’s dizzying to think about the amount of work, needed back here.

This patch of Knotweed, on the side of the house, and what lays beyond it, is what immediately interests me the most!  Come on around, and I’ll show you!

Yes, under that dead tree there is a grand patch of Brambles, Rubus spp.  Until the snows fly, I’ll be out here fighting back the Knotweed, sawing tree limbs and pruning back canes.  The tree and the brambles are the easy part.  Japanese Knotweed is a tenacious defender of any ground it has conquered and a sneaky, underground infiltrator; liable to pop up wherever it pleases.

If you have any organic, ecologically responsible ideas on Japanese Knotweed eradication, please let me know.  Until then, I’ll be outside with my machete and shovel!

Next week we’ll take a look at what else grows here, in the Knotweed Forest! 

Just click on any photo to enlarge for greater detail.

Thanx for stopping by.  See you next time.

Glinda lives here, too!

* * * * * * *

For more about Japanese Knotweed, Polygonum cuspidatum, please see:

https://forageporage.wordpress.com/2011/05/08/how-do-you-quell-an-invasion-you-eat-it/

 For more about Brambles, Rubus spp, please see:

https://forageporage.wordpress.com/2011/08/22/dew-to-bramble/

 For more about Sassafras, Sassafras albidum, please see:

https://forageporage.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/homemade-file-powder/

and:

https://forageporage.wordpress.com/2011/04/02/suffrin-sassafras/

6 responses to “Welcome To The Knotweed Forest

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This has to be an exciting time for you. I know you will take your time and enjoy the process. We’ll be watching!

    • Yes, it is a very exciting and tiring time! With a light frost last night, time is of the essence. However, I ALWAYS take my time and enjoy the process! Otherwise, I wind up stubbing a toe and making a mess! Do you have Japanese Knotweed there?

      • No Japanese Knotweed, but when we bought a small ranch to live for the rest of our lives, we discovered briers (with the very sharp thorns) were taking over several huge trees. It took a lot of work sitting on a mat on the ground and individually cutting the stalks at ground level, then cutting the vine as far as we could reach! Nature finally withered away everything above. But, every year, we do more work to cut off the new growth! It’s never-ending so it seems, but I haven’t discovered a safe chemical that would kill the brier nodes, and not damage anything else. I do love my land!

  2. Over the winter months I plan to go to Town Hall and the Historical Society to see if I can ferret up any photos of this property before the Knotweed invasion. Knotweed loves to travel underground, and may, like your briers be a longtime battle. I agree, that when you love the land it doesn’t matter!

Leave a Reply

