Took the Long Way Home!   Leave a comment

Yesterday, after walking into town, I took the long way home, along the Wareham River; to see what’s up!

New leaves are peeking out, on the Autumn-Olives, Elaeagnus umbellata.  Now, I have a fierce autumnberry craving!

 

Mullein, Verbascum thapus, is everywhere!

 

The tiny center leaves are my favorite smoke.  I take just one leaf, from each rosette, dry them and age, for 1 year.  If, like me, you smoke tobacco, smoking Mullein is a great cleaning habit.  Not only does it help clear my breathing, when I’m smoking Mullein, I’m smoking less tobacco!

The Austrian Black Pines, Pinus nigra, are sprouting new growth.

 

I love their dragon scale bark.  Really, I love everything about this pine!

 

This funny, little, lone Crabapple, Pyrus spp. still offers fruit to the hungry!  Although those sun-dried apples look sweeeet, I will leave them for the critters. 

Baby Wild Carrots, Daucus carota, are sprouting up, in legion.  Soon, the tasty stalks will shoot, and I will be here to snip them!

Oh, what’s this beauty?

 

Careful, that’s Poison Sumac, Rhus vernix. Although leafless, Urisurol, the demon oil, is still very active.  ALL parts of the plant contain Urisurol, at ALL times.  DO NOT TOUCH! The smooth, spotted bark is a giveaway to which Sumac it is.

 

At last, here’s why I took the long way home!

Evening Primrose, Oenothera biennis, and

 

Garlic Mustard, Alliaria petiolata.   I came to dig the pungent, spicy roots of both, to roast along with chicken.  But, that’s another post, entirely!

BONUS! Evening Primrose and Dandelions, Taraxacum officinale!  It’s tea time, Baby!

 

Thanx for stopping by.  See you next time.

 Just click on any photo, to enlarge.


Wareham on Dwellable
Leave a Reply

